4 P.M. (FOR POSITIVE MUSIC) released Five albums from 1991 till 2008. The first album 4 P.M. (FOR POSITIVE MUSIC) released in the nineties is 'Jackin' Boots' on Records. Other albums that 4 P.M. (FOR POSITIVE MUSIC) recorded are 'A Light In The Dark', 'Now's The Time', 'Sweet Soul'. In 1994 4 P.M. (FOR POSITIVE MUSIC) released only one single. The first single 4 P.M. (FOR POSITIVE MUSIC) released in the nineties is 'Sukiyaki' on Records.

4 P.M. (or For Positive Music) was an R&B male group from Baltimore, Maryland whose members consisted of brothers Roberto Pena Jr. and Reney "Ray" Pena along with friends Larry McFarland and Martiz Ware.

The group formed in 1991 and before hitting big, they were known as "IV Real" and performed in local talent shows. In 1994, after performing at a record release party, 4 P.M. were signed to Next Plateau Records and they moved to New York City.

In 1995, the group released their debut album, "Now is the Time" which peaked at #126on the Billboard 200, #6 on Billboard's Heatseekers album chart, and #96 on Billboard's R&B albums chart.

Their first single, a cover version of Kyu Sakamoto's song, "Sukyaki" (which was also famously recorded by disco duo A Taste of Honey in 1981) became their biggest and only hit to date, peaking at #8 on the Billboard Hot 100, #17 on Billboard's Adult Contemporary chart, #5 on Billboard's Top 40 Mainstream chart, #16 on Billboard's Rhythmic Top 40 chart, and #75 on Billboard's Hot R&B\Hip-Hop Singles & Tracks chart. The single was certified Gold.

The two follow-up from the album, "Years From Now" and "Lay Down Your Love" were released, but it's unknown how or if they ever charted at all. 4 P.M's debut album earned Gold status in Japan and Canada, and went Platinum in Australia.

In 1997, 4 P.M. released their sophomore album, "A Light in the Dark" which failed to chart at all on the Billboard 200.

The album was unsuccessful and the only single to chart was "I Gave You Everything" which only peaked at #67 on Billboard's R&B chart. A year after their second album was released, Martiz Ware departed from the group and their record label went out of business. After that, it seemed as if the group faded from obscurity.

After a brief break, the Pena brothers and Larry McFarland formed their own production label, Pena Brothers Productions and in 2000, they released their third album, "For Positive Music" on their own label.

In 2001, 4 P.M. released their fourth album "Sweet Soul" which was released on the Japanese Pony Canyon record label.

In 2008, the group released their newest album, "Tracks 4 the Mass Movement." Larry McFarland recorded his solo album, "The Urban Project" under the name "Lil Mac." They have toured Japan and many other countries. They still continue to be active in the music biz to this day.

Add/Complete Bio


Articles and Documents

No Articles, Documents or Photo's Found for This Artist. If you have something, you wanna share, about this artist/group you can always Contact Me.

Copyright © 2004 - 2022 SOULANDFUNKMUSIC.COM. All Rights Reserved.